February 17, 2023Press Release

Nine companies win Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year awards

Nine Wisconsin companies were declared winners of the 34th annual Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year (MOTY) Awards for outstanding achievements in manufacturing. The winners, announced Thursday, Feb. 16, at a black-tie banquet in Milwaukee, represent the state’s robust and diverse manufacturing industry.

The MOTY program recognizes the state’s top manufacturers of all sectors and sizes for their commitment to quality careers, good business practices, financial growth, innovative processes and reinvestment into local communities.

“Wisconsin manufacturers propel our economy. As the largest industry in the state, manufacturing not only produces $68 billion in economic output, it supports families and communities in every corner of Wisconsin,” said Wisconsin Manufactures & Commerce (WMC) President & CEO Kurt R. Bauer. “We appreciate the opportunity to recognize these companies for the incredible products they create, their culture of success and their impact on their employees, communities and state. Congratulations to our winners.”

Companies were evaluated on areas including financial growth, technological advances, product development, environmental solutions and sustainability, operational excellence and continuous improvement, commitment to employees, safety, and effective research and development. Award winners were selected by an independent panel of judges.

“On behalf of Baker Tilly, congratulations to this year’s winners. We haven’t had this many companies apply for MOTY since 2015,” said Greg Sofra, Baker Tilly’s Wisconsin Manufacturing Leader. “That is a testament to the strength of the industry in Wisconsin and the innovations our winners and finalists have made in the last few years to grow in an evolving business environment.”

Four Grand Award winners, based on company size, were recognized and five companies took home Special Awards for specific achievements.

“As Michael Best celebrates its 175th year in business, we uniquely understand the important role that manufacturing has played in the state’s rich history and its successful impact on the economy,” said Michael Best & Friedrich LLP’s firm managing partner David Krutz. “Each year we look forward to this annual awards ceremony as a way to showcase the hard work and commitment that Wisconsin manufacturers contribute to shape the industry, economy, and our communities all from the heart of the Midwest.”

The Manufacturer of the Year Awards are sponsored by the advisory firm of Baker Tilly, the law firm of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP and Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce – the combined state chamber and manufacturers’ association.

Additional information can be found online at

34th Annual Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winners:

Grand Awards:

Small Category: Federal Tool & Engineering, LLC– West Bend

Medium Category: Gamber-Johnson LLC – Stevens Point

Large Category: Paper Machinery Corporation – Milwaukee

Mega Category: Hydrite Chemical Co. – Brookfield

Special Awards:

Investment in the Next Generation: Precision Plus, Inc. – Elkhorn

Exceptional Entrepreneurialism: Dane Manufacturing – Waunakee

Single Source Strategy: Wisconsin Metal Parts, Inc. – Waukesha

Heart of the Badger: Volm Companies, Inc. – Antigo

Commitment to Continuous Employee Development: Charter Manufacturing Company, Inc. – Mequon

back to top