February 26, 2010Press Release

Eight Wisconsin Companies Receive Manufacturer of the Year Awards

Eight Wisconsin companies received 2009 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards for outstanding achievements in manufacturing. The winning companies were announced on Thursday at a black-tie awards dinner and program at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.

The 22nd annual Manufacturer of the Year Awards recognize Wisconsin companies that demonstrate a commitment to business excellence, which has a positive impact on the company and the state, making Wisconsin a better place to live, work and play. “The success of each of these companies proves that manufacturing is alive and well in Wisconsin. These people are the backbone of the Wisconsin economy, and when manufacturing is strong, other industries will have sturdy paths as well,” said Timothy L. Christen, CEO of Baker Tilly. “These companies demonstrate that Wisconsin manufacturers have the forward momentum to make things in Wisconsin and create jobs for years to come.”

The statewide recognition program is co-sponsored by Baker Tilly, one of America’s largest accounting and advisory firms; Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, a preeminent Midwest-based law firm; and Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, the state’s largest business association.

“Wisconsin manufacturers are responsible for keeping our local economies vibrant,” said Tod B. Linstroth, senior partner in the Business Practice Group at Michael Best & Friedrich LLP. “Their continued commitment to quality, leadership, and excellence will foster new opportunities for our families, communities, and our futures.”

Forty Wisconsin businesses were nominated for the 2009 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards for manufacturing excellence. Companies were evaluated in areas such as financial growth or consistency, technological advances, product development, environmental solutions and sustainability, operational excellence/continuous improvement, commitment to employees and effective research and development.

Four Grand Award winners, categorized by number of employees, were recognized for superior performance across the nomination form categories. For the second year, a Sustainability Grand Award was presented to a manufacturer that demonstrated a commitment to and successfully implemented sustainable manufacturing practices that are environmentally and economically sound. Special Awards were presented to three companies for achieving excellence in a particular area. The Special Award categories were determined by the judges based on information provided in the nomination forms.

“We are proud to honor these manufacturers. They are leading the way as the economy rebounds.” said James S.Haney, president of Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce. “Wisconsin manufacturers are recognized around the world for their innovations, cutting-edge technological advances, sustainable business practices, loyal workforce, and uncompromising commitment to customer satisfaction.”

An independent panel of judges, with representatives from business, education, government and the media, selected the 2009 Manufacturer of the Year Award winners. More information about the Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards program can be found at

2009 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winners

Complete Awards Listing:

Grand Awards
Oshkosh Corporation – Defense Division, Oshkosh – Grand Award, mega company category
American Orthodontics Corporation, Sheboygan – Grand Award, large company category
Sentry Equipment Corp., Oconomowoc – Grand Award, medium company category
Northwoods Paper Converting, Beaver Dam – Grand Award, small company category
Frito-Lay, Inc., Beloit – Grand Award, sustainability category

Special Awards
Mayville Engineering Company Inc. (MEC), Mayville – Special Award, “Community Involvement and Conservation Education”
Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry Company, Inc., Manitowoc – Special Award, “Industry Perseverance”
Plastic Components, Inc., Germantown – Special Award, “Commitment to Community and Employees”

back to top