September 25, 2007Press Release

20th Annual Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards: Nominations Now Being Accepted

Nominations are now being accepted for the 20th Annual Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year (MOTY) Awards. Wisconsin manufacturers contribute to the vibrancy of our state and communities through good business practices, innovative processes, and productivity enhancements. Nominees for the 2007 MOTY Awards must be manufacturing companies with significant operations in the state.

The MOTY Awards recognize Wisconsin companies for excellence in manufacturing. The evaluation criteria includes:

  • Financial growth or consistency
  • Technological advancement
  • Product development
  • Environmental solutions
  • Operational excellence
  • Continuous improvement
  • Commitment to employees
  • Profitable growth
  • Effective research and development
  • Investment in employee training and growth

Winning companies will demonstrate a commitment to business excellence which has a positive impact on the company and the state, making Wisconsin a better place to live, work and play. 

Anyone may nominate a manufacturer, and self-nominations are always welcome and encouraged. An independent panel of judges will evaluate all nominations, conveying up to five Grand Awards each year. The first four awards are size-related, based on number of employees:  Small (1 - 49), Medium (50 - 299), Large (300 - 999), and Mega (1,000 +). A fifth Grand Award for Community Commitment is awarded to a manufacturer who has demonstrated outstanding community involvement and commitment. The judges may also select manufacturers to receive Special Awards based on unique qualities and achievements.

Do you know a great manufacturer? Recognize that company for their efforts today! Nomination forms and further details are available on the MOTY website at or by calling 800.362.7301. Nomination forms will also be available in the October issue of Corporate Report Wisconsin. Nominations must be received by November 27, 2007. Winners will be announced at a black-tie awards program on Thursday, February 28, 2008 at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee. 

The MOTY Awards Program is co-sponsored by Michael Best and Friedrich LLP, a preeminent Midwest-based law firm; Virchow, Krause & Company LLP, the nation’s 15th largest accounting and consulting firm; and Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce, the state’s largest business association.

For more information please contact Susan Steberl, Client Development Manager, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP: 414.270.2703 or Colleen Scruggs, Client Development Coordinator, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP: 414.223.2505.

back to top