March 1, 2007Press Release

Nine Wisconsin Companies Honored for Manufacturing Excellence Companies Win Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards

Milwaukee, WI Wisconsin manufacturers bring products to the world, and nine companies Thursday received the prestigious 2006 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award for manufacturing excellence.

Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winners

Grand Award Winners Category

Pierce Manufacturing, Inc., Appleton Mega (1000+ employees)

Linetec, Wausau Large (300-999 employees)

OEM Fabricators, Inc., Woodville Medium (50-299 employees)

Accuweb, Inc., Madison Small (1-49 employees)

Special Award Winners

Astronautics Corporation of America, Milwaukee “High-Tech R&D”

Bell Laboratories, Inc., Madison “Building a Better Mousetrap”

Brady Corporation, Milwaukee “Corporate Excellence”

Giddings & Lewis Machine Tools, LLC, Fond du Lac “Commitment of Employees & Community”

Wisconsin Plating Works of Racine, Inc., Racine “Employee and Environmental Stewardship”

“The Manufacturer of the Year Awards program celebrates the stories of Wisconsin’s manufacturing companies,” said Tim Christen, CEO of Virchow Krause. “Manufacturers are the backbone of the Wisconsin economy, and when manufacturing is strong and growing, services, retail, construction and other industries will have strong paths as well. They bring Wisconsin products to the world.”

“We are proud to honor these manufacturers as they forge ahead setting the pace for economic development, growth and prosperity,” said James S. Haney, president of Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce. “Wisconsin manufacturers are recognized around the world for their innovations, cutting-edge technological advances, and uncompromising commitment to customer satisfaction.”

“Wisconsin manufacturers are responsible for creating jobs and keeping our local economies strong,” said Tod Linstroth, senior partner in the Business Practice Group at Michael Best & Friedrich LLP. “Their commitment to sound technological advances, customers and employees will foster new opportunities for our families and our futures.”

The annual competition is co-sponsored by Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, a preeminent Midwest-based law firm; Virchow, Krause & Company, LLP, the nation’s 15th largest accounting and consulting firm; and Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, the state’s largest business association.

Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Grand Award winners are recognized for overall outstanding achievement and categorized based on the number of employees. Nominated companies are evaluated in areas such as financial growth or consistency, technological advances, product development, environmental solutions, operational excellence/continuous improvement, commitment to employees, and effective research and development.

Special Awards are presented to companies for achieving excellence in any one area. Categories are determined by the judges based on information provided in nomination forms. Forty manufacturers were nominated for this year’s awards.

An independent panel of judges, including leaders in business, government, education and the business media, evaluated the nominations. The MOTY awards were presented Thursday at a black-tie banquet at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.

back to top