February 28, 2003Press Release

Twelve Wisconsin Companies Win Manufacturer of the Year Awards

Milwaukee, WI - Twelve Wisconsin companies Thursday received 2002 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards for manufacturing excellence, including a new top honor for commitment to community.

"Wisconsin manufacturers create better jobs and brighter futures for all of us," said James S. Haney, WMC president. "These companies make good quality products right here in Wisconsin and have established themselves as community and global leaders."

The annual competition is co-sponsored by Virchow, Krause & Company, LLP, a regional accounting and consulting firm; Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, a large Midwestern law firm, and Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce, the state's largest business association.

"We are proud to honor these manufacturers as they forge ahead setting the pace for economic development, growth and prosperity," said Tim Christen, CEO of Virchow Krause. "Their commitment to sound technological advances, customers and employees will foster new opportunities for our families and our futures."

"The Manufacturer of the Year Awards program celebrates the success and innovations that have helped make Wisconsin the economic powerhouse it is today," said John Sapp, Managing Partner of Michael Best & Friedrich. "These companies are the state's manufacturing elite."

New to this year's program is the Community Commitment Grand Award, presented to a company demonstrating outstanding community commitment and steadfast community involvement.

"Wisconsin manufacturers give more than jobs to their communities," Haney said. "Wisconsin's greatest philanthropists have been manufacturers, and that tradition continues today and is part of what makes Wisconsin great." Alcoa Wheel Products of Beloit won the community award for support of Beloit, a community that has had a struggling economy in recent years.

An independent panel of judges, including leaders in business, government, education and the business media, evaluated the nominations. The MOTY awards were presented Thursday, February 27, 2003, at a black-tie banquet at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.


2002 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winners

Grand Award Winners Category
Oshkosh Truck Corporation, Oshkosh Mega (800+ employees)
Datex-Ohmeda ADVent, Madison Large (300-799 employees)
American Orthodontics, Sheboygan Medium (100-299 employees)
CURT Manufacturing, Eau Claire Small (1-99 employees)
Alcoa Wheel Products Beloit-AWP, Beloit (NEW) Community Commitment
J. J. Keller & Associates, Inc., Neenah e-MOTY


Special Award Winners  
InPro Corporation, Muskego - "Promoting Opportunity"
K & B Innovations, Inc., North Lake - "Entrepreneurial Spirit"
Quad/Graphics, Inc., Pewaukee - "Hurdles Overcome"
Sweetheart Cup Company Inc. Hoffmaster Brands, Oshkosh -"Commitment to Safety"
Tomah Products, Inc., Milton - "Environmental Consciousness"
Wisconsin Plastics, Inc. of Green Bay, Green Bay -"Employment Leadership"

Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Grand Award winners are recognized for overall outstanding achievement and are categorized based on the number of employees. Special Awards are presented to companies for achieving excellence in any one area. Categories are determined by the judges based on information provided in nomination forms. The e-MOTY Grand Award is presented to a manufacturer exhibiting innovative use of the Internet. Forty-eight companies were nominated for this year's awards.


Note: Available at and PR Newswire.

back to top